My Latest Kosher Disney Experience: Biergarten – Part II

August 14, 2011 at 11:21 pm 8 comments

We arrived late Thursday night/ early Friday morning at the Boardwalk, and after waking in the morning I sent my family to the Studios while I pick up my race packet at Wide World of Sports. As the day came to an end, my kids & I took a Friendship boat back to our room while my wife was finishing up her pre-Shabbat spa experience at Mandara across Crescent Lake. I knew that this would be the last time to secure the kosher meals, since the actual 24-hour mark would take place during a time I would no longer be able to call it in.

Usually, I would call the Dining line to get this done, but since I was staying on the Concierge Level, I figured I would give this Concierge perk a whirl. I sent the kids to the lounge for some Sprite while I sat at the Concierge desk and placed my orders with the Cast Member. She called Disney Dining herself with me present just to make sure we got it right. All seemed set and we entered Shabbat with the only concern in my mind being whether I’d make it through all 26 miles on Sunday.

(On a side note, while this Concierge Cast Member was friendly and helpful for this task, she was completely the opposite when we brought up the blaring horns of the Friendship boats outside our window into the late Extra Magic Hours at Epcot. Other CM’s were very helpful, but she made it seem like we were deranged for not enjoying the privilege of listening to that pleasantly loud sound as our children lay awake well past their bedtime.)

Fast forward to Marathon Sunday: Both my friend and I finish the marathon in good time and running to the finish line. After eating lunch with my family in Epcot – microwaved ziti & eggplant parm from our room with soda from Club Cool while sitting at the outdoor tables at Fountain View – I went back to the room to shower & change and meet back in World Showcase.

However, when I got to the room, I had a surprise voice mail on my phone…

“Hi, Mr. Haller, this is the Chef at Biergarten. I understand you require eight kosher meals. We need to know what your food requests are so that we can prepare the meal for you on time. Please give me a call back at…”

I got this message at 3 pm – only three hours before the ADR.

What the heck happened to the orders I placed? If I call it in now, will it be too late? They say they usually need many hours to thaw the meals. If it wont work out, will we be able to get a refund? If it will work out, what do I tell him since I no longer have everyone’s orders?!

I called the Chef, and he was the most pleasant CM voice I encountered that trip. He assured me it wouldn’t be a problem – the 24 hours thing is an “exaggeration” of how much time they need. So, I gave him our orders to the best of my memory.

Crisis averted. But this experience taught me a few lessons:

1. While Disney requires 24 hours notice for kosher meals, the actual people preparing the food do not.
2. The differences in kosher menus given to me by the CM on the phone is a computer issue, not a dining establishment issue. (See previous blog post.) The Chef assured me that any restaurant in World Showcase that has kosher meals has access to the same kosher menus.
3. Make your kosher orders prior to 24 hours, but it may be good practice to call the dining location directly to confirm they got the orders.

So, after cleaning up and getting dressed for dinner, I walked back to World Showcase and, after taking in some attractions and enjoying the entertainment, we met our friends in Germany. We were seated approximately 10 minutes after arriving.

Next time, I’ll share the actual meal experience…

Entry filed under: Epcot, Kosher, Travel, Walt Disney World.

My Latest Kosher Disney Experience: Biergarten – Part I Sorry for the extra long break…

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mordy  |  August 16, 2011 at 4:15 pm

    Can’t wait to hear about the actual meal experience. We’re heading to Disney World in 2 weeks and managed to reserve a character dining meal. I ordered kosher meals but am wondering about the pricing and the food of course 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Chad  |  August 17, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    Part III is coming real soon. I’d love to hear about your plan.

    Reply
  • 3. Gavi  |  February 21, 2012 at 8:11 pm

    Curious to hear about your meal. Are you going to post part 3?

    Reply
  • 4. Gavi  |  February 21, 2012 at 11:05 pm

    Are you going to post part 3?

    Reply
  • 5. Chad  |  February 21, 2012 at 11:17 pm

    I apologize.I know it has been a long time. I hope to post the final installment soon.

    Reply
  • 6. naomi  |  December 12, 2013 at 9:11 pm

    Hi,
    Thanks for the Disney information. I was wondering, when you stayed club level- did they have any OU kosher products. Bagels? Muffins? Thanks

    Reply
    • 7. Chad  |  December 26, 2013 at 10:59 pm

      Wow, I didn’t know people are still reading this. I have so much to post since I last left off.

      Back in January 2011, the Club Level at the Boardwalk didn’t have kosher bagels. I checked. It didn’t have a microwave available for us either (which I was hoping it would). If I remember correctly, the only thing that we were sure was kosher were the drinks and the yogurts. I don’t remember about the hot chocolate.

      Now, two things to remember about this: 1. Things change over time and I’m sure it isn’t exactly the same as it was, and 2. each Club Level lounge has different food products. It is quite possible that the Polynesian Club Lounge has kosher bagels, while the Beach Club lounge doesn’t. The one great thing about the lounges is that they are staffed well and will happily answer questions and show you packaging for the foods (unless it is prepared on site).

      Thanks for commenting! Maybe one of these days I’ll finish up my Part 3 and catch up on all the other experiences I’ve had since then.

      Reply
      • 8. NAOMI  |  December 26, 2013 at 11:41 pm

        Thanks for the reply Chad and please do try to finish up your disney experience. I found your blog by searching for kosher disney food and any tips/help I get before our big trip is a plus. I read all about your disney experience. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts


